Home > Film

Who will win Best New Male Actor at Grand Bell Awards?

By Kim Min-jin

  • Published : Nov 12, 2014 - 18:03
  • Updated : Nov 12, 2014 - 18:03

Actor Park Yoo-chun, Yim Si-wan and Yeo Jin-goo (OSEN)
As the 51st Grand Bell Award nominees were announced Wednesday, the Best New Male Actor category has come under the spotlight amid expectations of stiff competition.

Of the five actors nominated, Park Yoo-chun, Yim Si-wan and Yeo Jin-goo received the most attention.

Actor Park Yoo-chun (NEW / OSEN)
Singer-actor Park was named for his acting in “Sea Fog.” Despite the film being his big-screen debut, Park has received wide acclaim for his natural acting along with famous senior actors.

As Park is to receive the Best New Male Actor award by the Korean Film Critics Association on Thursday, many film experts are considering Park as the winner for the Grand Bell Awards as well.

Actor Yim Si-wan (NEW / OSEN)
Yim Si-wan’s movie “The Attorney” has become one of the most successful South Korean movies of all time, garnering more than 11 million viewers. The film has received 11 nominations at the Grand Bell Awards.

The young actor was greatly complimented by viewers and film experts for his realistic acting skills, especially in the scenes where he is brutally tortured by the police.

Actor Yeo Jin-goo (Showbox / OSEN)
Yeo Jin-goo also won Best New Actor at the Blue Dragon Film Awards last year for his role in “Hwayi: A Monster Boy.”

Already famous for his performances in many television dramas, many movie fans are wondering if his glory will last for two years in a row.

The two other nominees are actors Ahn Jae-hong and Choi Jin-hyuk. The winner is to be unveiled on Nov. 21 at Yeouido KBS Hall in Seoul.

By Kim Min-jin (minjin103@heraldcorp.com)

Most Read Stories : Week